top of page
  • aoifeflynnkennedy


(Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council Aoife Flynn Kennedy, Laura Whitmore (Actor, Broadcaster and Author), and Marlena Murphy (Creative Communities Engagement Officer / Creative Ireland) at the launch of a new Film Award for County Wicklow by Wicklow County Council funded also by Creative Ireland. Photographer Mark Stedman.)


Screen Wicklow and Wicklow Arts Office are pleased to announce this new Wicklow Short Film Award for 2024, which was launched at the Clermont Screen Hub at Wicklow County Campus by Actor, Broadcaster and Author Laura Whitmore earlier this month.


The purpose of the award is to support Wicklow filmmakers to make high-quality, original films in the county. Narrative films, documentary, digital film and animation are all eligible to apply. The Wicklow Short Film Award is funded by Wicklow County Council and Creative Ireland, and supported also by Clermont Screen Hub.


For 2024, there will be a maximum of 2 grants of up to €15,000 each for the production of a short film or documentary. Films should be approximately 10-15 minutes in duration, although animation projects may be shorter. The total fund therefore available for award in 2024 is €30,000.


An online Information session will be held on Thursday 18th April between 12.30pm and 2pm, where applicants can ask questions about the award, and seek clarifications about the application process.


Questions and enquiries about the Wicklow Short Film Award may be directed to and an FAQ document will be published online.  The closing date for applications is Friday 24th May at 4pm.


This is a film production award, and scripts must be full developed prior to applying. it cannot be used to develop scripts or ideas, and films must be ready to go into production within two months of funding being awarded. Films must be shot in County Wicklow.


We are seeking applicants who have a track record of filmmaking, and who have already built a portfolio of high-quality, creative and original film. Applicants may apply individually but priority will be given to applicants who have already assembled a core creative team (including writer, director and producer). 


Wicklow County Council has a strong history of supporting the development of the film industry in the county, and is proud to be host to a bourgeoning professional commercial film sector.  It is our intention that making these two awards will have a significant impact on two film makers and their progression in the film industry. 


Cathaoirleach Aoife Flynn Kennedy said that ‘I was pleased to attend the launch of the Award Scheme with Laura Whitmore at Clermont Wicklow County Campus and home to the Screen Hub.  This award will undoubtedly lead to the creative production of strong new film work in the county which otherwise may not have an opportunity or investment to be produced.’


Emer O’Gorman, Chief Executive of Wicklow County Council stated that ‘after much research on the landscape of both local and national film awards in Ireland by the Council staff, I am pleased that we have been able to craft this particular award to suit the needs of the film sector in the county and to add to the canon of supports offered by Wicklow County Council in this area of work.’


Please note that successful applicants must have a registered production company in order to draw down the funding, and appropriate insurance must be in place prior to the commencement of filming.  In collaboration with Clermont Screen Hub, successful applicants will also receive additional supports including access to co-working space.


Screen Wicklow will also assist grant recipients with locations, permits and where possible, Wicklow Arts Office and Screen Wicklow will seek to facilitate screening opportunities for the two successfully funded films.


The primary applicant must be native to County Wicklow or residing in County Wicklow for the past three consecutive years. For all further eligibility criteria and funding guidelines please see


Shortlisted applicants must be available to attend an interview/pitching session on 13th and 14th June 2024. Specific dates and times will be communicated when applicants have been shortlisted.

(Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Aoife Flynn Kennedy, Laura Whitmore (Actor, Broadcaster and Author), Jade Travers (National Talent Academy Film & TV Crew East Manager), Leonora Earls (Director of Services: Planning, Economic & Rural Development , Wicklow County Council), Jenny Sherwin (Arts Officer & Creative Ireland Coordinator, Wicklow County Council), Jackie Carroll (Senior Executive Officer: Climate, Environment, Recreation and Amenity, Wicklow County Council), John Powderly (Senior Enterprise Development Officer, Film Commissioner, Wicklow County Council), Lisa McMahon (Assistant Staff Officer, Screen Wicklow, Wicklow County Council) and Marlena Murphy (Creative Communities Engagement Officer / Creative Ireland) at the launch of a new Film Award for County Wicklow by Wicklow County Council funded also by Creative Ireland. Photographer Mark Stedman.)



bottom of page